Hindu Calendar

Hindu calendar – The Hindu calendar is luni-solar, with a precise lunar month and an approximate luni-solar year.

It is based on lunar months corresponding to the phases of the moon. In one year there are twelve months of 29.5 days, accounting for a total of 354 days. This means that the date of each festival moves back 11 days each year. An extra leap month is added about once every three years.

The year starts with the sun’s entrance into Capricorn.  The solar year is divided into two halves and six seasons.

The Hindu year contains twelve lunar months named after the naksatra in which the moon is full:

Caitra (March – April) (citra-naksatra)

Vaisakha (April – May) (visakha-naksatra)

Jyaistha (May – June) (jyestha-naksatra)

Asadha (June – July) (purvasadha-naksatra)

Sravana (July – August) (sravana-naksatra)

Bhadrapada (August – September) (purva-bhadrapada-naksatra)

Asvina (September – October) (asvini-naksatra)

Karttika (October – November) (krttika-naksatra)

Margasirsa or Agrahayana (November – December) (mrgasirsa-naksatra)

Pausa (December – January) (pusya-naksatra)

Magha (January – February) (magha-naksatra) and

Phalguna (February – March) (phalguna-naksatra).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s