Seven Days of the Week

The seven days of the week were named for the Seven Sages or Seven Lamps which represented the seven celestial spheres seen by early man with the naked eye.  These seven planets were identified as the Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus and Saturn.  It is interesting to note that this observation laid the foundation for the Western Mind while the Easter Mind saw five as the sacred number.  To the people living in the Far East the Sun and Moon were not seen as planets.

Solar System

The number seven soon became the organizing number from which everything else revolved.  The seven days of the week were first named by the early Romans when they created the Roman Solar Year.  They named each day for one of these planets.  Each planet plus the Sun and Moon represented various Gods and Goddesses throughout different cultures.  The names we know today came to be as the Roman Calendar was updated with a Germanic translation.  This allowed for the Germanic and Norse perspective of the Gods and Goddesses associated with each planet to influence the names.  Enjoy looking back in time and seeing how the seven days of the week are a history lesson upon themselves….

Sunday – Sun’s Day (Sun)

Named for the Germanic Sun Goddess Sunna and the Roman day of Sol Invictus. Other Sun Gods are Ra (Egyptian), Mithras (Roman/Persian/Hindu). The Sun rises in the East, the Germanic Goddess Eostre is the Spring Goddess of the East.

Monday – Moon’s Day (Moon)

Named for the Germanic Moon God Mani, Sunna’s Brother and the Roman day of Lunae or the Goddess Luna. Other names are Diana and Selene. The Egyptians saw the Moon as the seed that impregnated the Earth who then gave birth to a new Sun. Sin (Nanna) is the Arabian Moon God.

Tuesday – Tyr’s Day (Mars)

Named for Tyr the Norse God of War and Law and the Roman day of Mars. Mars is God of War. Tyr is the son of Odin also known as Woden/Irmin/Yggr.

Wednesday – Wodan’s Day (Mercury)

Named for the Norse God Wodan also known as Odin, Irmin and Yggr, the Father of all Gods and the Roman day of Mercury. Mercury leads souls between Heaven and Earth. Also known as Hermes (Greek), Thoth (Egyptian), Adonai (Chaldean), YWHW (Judaic), God (Christian), Allah (Islam).

Thursday – Thor’s Day (Jupiter)

Named for the Norse God Thor, son of Odin and the Roman day of Jupiter. Jupiter is also the Greek God Zeus, son of Cronus. Zeus and Thor are both seen as protector Gods.

Friday – Freya’s Day (Venus)

Named for Freya the Germanic and Norse Goddess of love and Roman day of Venus. Venus is the evening star. The Mother God known as Astarte, Asherah, Aphrodite, Eostre, Minerva, Innana, Alluza, Athena, etc…

Saturday – Saturn’s Day (Saturn)

Named for the Roman day of Saturn or Cronus, Son of Uranus (Sky God) and Gaia (Earth Goddess).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s